The GSOC

First, I must tell you how I started involving myself in KDE. One fine day, when I was lost with tonnes of programmes in geeksforgeeks and trying to figure out what I would do with a matrix multiplication and knapsack code in future, I pinged my senior on Facebook. He asked one simple question, “How much would you rate yourself in C++ and Java? ” I straightway said 9. He started fumbling and said, “Then close your coding tabs and start contributing in KDE.” I half agreed , half happy that I can really glimpse into real world codes as I started looking through the codes online. Now a time gap. I am now doing Qt, struggling with my proposal and yes, for sure with my mac os x computer.

Wherever you are stuck, ask google to lift you and people to motivate you . The online code for Calligra is grand. (http://api.kde.org/bundled-apps-api/calligra-apidocs/sheets/html/classCalligra_1_1Sheets_1_1Currency.html) .Best part  which as a novice I felt is that the classname and the member function names give you all the notion about what is there inside them. Okay, there are tonnes of classes, subclasses, header files. Now, the saviour is the line number mentioned in the documentation. I enjoyed it, picking up parts related to my project and understanding them. Anything must be done by digesting what is really happening.

Okay! this post was to rawly introduce you about what I have done to clear the hurdles that a new comer faces when he or she is doing open source. In my later posts, I will give further details about the classes I read, the work they do, how I am implementing the features. Keep reading. 😀

Leave a Reply

